RIP, GiGi

Around two weeks ago, my dog GiGi died.  GiGi was an all black Bouvier des Flandres.  For those not familiar with the breed, basically a large and furry sheepdog.   I never had a dog as a kid, I became very attached to GiGi, I often referred to her as “my girl”.  She was my family’s watchdog, protector, friend, and companion.  She will be greatly missed by our family, especially me.

We adopted GiGi through a rescue fondation, when she came to live with us the foundation speculated she was around 3 years old.  This week I was going through files of old artwork and came across this sketch:

GG

It is my conception of what GiGi may have looked like as a puppy, as I never got to see her as a puppy.  I did this sketch around 6 or 7 years ago as the dog and I were sitting on our back deck.  The media is black colored pencil on general sketch paper.

I may do a full piece in tribute to GiGi as I am still feeling the loss and would like to do something special in remembrance of her.  But, for right now, it was nice to run across this old sketch.

 

RIP

GiGi

2000? to 6-6-2013

(the “featured image” for this post is GiGi around 2008, after a bath)

Leave a Reply

